2024 Metro Classic


Rylee Hackmann | 3/14/2024

PHOTO CREDIT: Mark Lundy @LutteLens LutteLens.com

On March 5th, 2024 was the 31st annual KC Metro Classic Dual at Avila University.

The Metro Classic is an all-star dual showcasing the top senior wrestlers within the KC Metro from Kansas and Missouri that takes place 10 days after the state tournaments. The first ever KC Metro classic was held in 1992. Many of the athletes that are chosen to wrestle in the metro classic move on to move on to wrestle in college or this is the last time they step on the mat.

14 Kansas wrestlers took part in the Metro Classic. 7 wrestlers placed 1st at the state tournaments and 4 runner-ups at the state tournaments.

Metro Classic Results:
113- Ezekiel Witt (Manhattan) over Zach Pruitt (Lee’s Summit West) by fall in the second period.

120- Noah Lovell (Lone Jack) over Gabe Sherrell (Olathe Northwest) by a decision of 6-4

126- Charlie Dykes (Lee’s Summit North) over Mikha’el Muldrow (Blue Valley Northwest) by fall in the second period

132- Dillon Cooper (Mill Valley) over James Lovelady (Liberty North) by a decision of 8-1

138- Braeden Moore (Tonganoxie) over Rylan Mansfiled (Fort Osage) by a major decision of 17-5

144- Gavin Linsman (Liberty) over Noah Bailey (Tonganoxie) by a major decision of 13-3

150- Lane Synder (Pleasant Hill) over Brady Mason (Mill Valley) by a tech fall of 17-5

157- Alex Hutchcraft (Smithville) over Deavon McWashington (Sumner Academy) by fall in the second period

165- Colin McAlister (Mill Valley) over Jackson Jones (Lee’s Summit) by a decision of 9-3

175- Parker Guge (Ottawa) over Lucas Estes (St. Michael) by a decision 9-6

190- Brayden Bush (Pleasant Hill) over Caleb Sharp (Olathe Northwest) by tech fall of 17-3

215- Jake Fernandez (Platte County) over Michael Costello (Olathe East) by a decision of 6-1

285- Coner Tindle (Blue Springs) over Jayden Berry (Olathe South) decision in overtime of 2-1

285- Brett Carroll (Olathe East) over Callen Smithpeter (Blue Springs South) by a decision of 3-1

The final score of the KC Metro dual was 37-22 Missouri. Witt, Cooper, Moore, McAlister, Guge, and Carroll all picked up a win at the dual.

Even though this was the last time some of these wrestlers stepped on the mat if they aren't wrestling at the next level, Ezekiel Witt, Noah Bailey, Colin McAlister and Caleb Sharp hav... Click here to read full article