skip navigation

KWCA Announces 22-23 Award Winners and Hall of Fame Inductees

03/06/2023, 10:15am CST

22-23 Award Winners Announced

On Monday, the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association (KWCA) announced the winners of their highly anticipated awards for the 2022-23 season, following their Spring Board meeting. This year's nominations were at an all-time high, making the selection process an arduous task for the committee.

KWCA President Nate Naasz expressed his excitement about the overwhelming response from the member coaches. "It's heartening to see so many coaches taking the time to nominate deserving candidates for our awards. It was a challenging task to select the winners, but we are proud of the choices we have made."

The winners of the prestigious KWCA awards will be honored in the fall at the KWCA "Fritz Knorr" Clinic and Hall of Fame/Awards Banquet, to be held in Salina, Kansas. The event is expected to be a record crowd attended by coaches, wrestlers, and enthusiasts from across the state.

Without further ado, the KWCA is proud to announce the winners of the 2022-23 season awards:

Head Coach of the Year

6A Boys: Carlos Prieto, Garden City High School 

5A Boys: Mike Schauer, Maize High School

4A Boys: Brandon Terry, Augusta High School

3-2-1A Boys: Mike Porsch, Hoxie High School

6-5A Girls: Carlos Prieto, Garden City High School 

4-1A Girls: Courtney Horgan, Rossville High School


Senior Wrestler of the Year

6A Boys: Luke Barker (175) Dodge City High School

5A Boys: Nick Treaster (120) Newton High School

4A Boys: Marcus Terry (126) Augusta High School

3-2-1A Boys: Derek Johnson (157) Hoxie High School

6-5A Girls: Sarah Zimmerman (110) Hays High School

6-5A Girls: Hannah Jackson (235) Leavenworth High School

4-1A Girls: Josiah Ortiz (115) Lakin High School


Administrator of the Year

321A Boys: Shea Rothchild, Trego Community High School Principal

321A Boys: Matt Smith, Trego Community High School Superintendent

4-1A Girls: Curt Brecheisen, Rossville High School

4A Boys: Jeff Hines, Paola High School Principal

5A Boys: Steve Bushnell, Seaman High School

6-5A Girls: Charlie Nimz, Athletic Director, Washburn Rural High School

6A Boys: Steve Page, Athletic Director, Olathe Northwest


Assistant Coach of the Year

321A Boys: Trevin Edelman, Sabetha High School

321A Boys: Trenton Cox, Sabetha High School

4-1A Girls: Brooke Bogren, Santa Fe Trail High School

4-1A Girls: Chad Schmale, Santa Fe Trail High School

4A Boys: Dawson Elliott, Augusta High School

4A Boys: JD Hand, Augusta High School

4A Boys: Cooper Hayes, Augusta High School

4A Boys: Rhett Mallon, Augusta High School

5A Boys: Mike Schridde, Great Bend High School

6-5A Girls: Mike Goodwin, Junction City High School

6-5A Girls: Heather Goodson, Junction City High School

6A Boys: Paul Lappin, Garden City High School

6A Boys: Kevin Perez, Garden City High School

6A Boys: Jacob Waller, Garden City High School

6A Boys: Anthony Calderon, Garden City High School

6A Boys: Tylee Biera, Garden City High School


Contributor of the Year

Joe Knecht, Paola, Kansas

Lindsey Willey, Lindsey Willey Photography

Brad Bascue, Junction City Middle School / Fort Riley Middle School


Media of the Year

Brent Maycock, KSHSAA Covered

Rick Peterson Jr., KSHSAA Covered

Mac Moore, KSHSAA Covered

Scott Paske, KSHSAA Covered

Brian Kodger, Photo Expectations

John Baetz, Kansas Pregame Magazine

Robin Oldham, Labette Avenue Newspaper

Kasey McDowell,

Rick Peterson, 

Isaac Deere, 

Caleb Jeanneret, 


Middle School Coach of the Year

Craig Rickley, Clay Center Community Middle School

Cody Phillips, Effingham-Atchison County Middle School

Norbert Muth, Great Bend Middle School Boys

Jeremy Foster, Great Bend Middle School Girls Wrestling

Jarrod Smith, USD 281 Graham County


Official of the Year

Lisa Woody


Team Support Personnel of the Year

321A Boys: Scott Brownlee, Sabetha High School

4A Boys: Debbie Martin, Paola High School

4-1A Girls: Chelsea Rogers, Labette County High School

5A Boys: Rylee Hackmann, Basehor-Linwood High School

6-5A Girls: Leslie Goodwin, Junction City High School

6A Boys: Bob Rodriguez, Dodge City High School

6A Boys: DCHS Custodial Staff, Dodge City High School


USAWKS Youth Coach of the Year

D1: Jason Christenson, Bobcat Wrestling Club

D3: Justin Wiscombe, Trailhands Wrestling

D3: Will Bolt, Trailhands Wrestling


Hall of Fame

Andy Niemczyk, Beloit Jr/Sr High School

Doug Vander Linden, Burlington High School

Travis Keal, Mill Valley High School

Tyler Caldwell, Goddard High School / Oklahoma State University

Tag(s): NEWS