skip navigation

KWCA Yearly Award Winners Announced

03/20/2019, 7:15pm CDT

Spring Awards Announced

On Wednesday, the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association announced their full slate of award winners for the 2018-19 season.  The State Head Coaches of the Year and the Senior Wrestlers of the year are voted on following each state tournament.  The rest of the Award Winners and Hall of Fame Inductees are nominated following the state championships by any KWCA Member.  The final decision is made at the KWCA Spring Executive Board Meeting.  

"Honoring excellence in the sport of wrestling is one of the KWCA's core competencies and to be honest, one of the best things that the KWCA does," said KWCA President Nate Naasz. "Congratulations to each of this year's winners. As well as our outstanding slate of nominees" 

The entire list of winners is listed below.  Each winner will be recognized during the KWCA Awards and Hall of Fame Banquet on Oct. 5 in Salina, KS.


KWCA Coach of the Year

  • 6A: Bill Ross (Derby)

  • 5A:  Cody Parks (Blue Valley Southwest)

  • 4A: Cole Fredrickson (Marysville)

  • 321A: Mike Porsch (Hoxie) 

KWCA Assistant Coach of the Year

  • 6A: Duane Zlatnik (Washburn Rural)

  • 5A: Jon Ray (Seaman)

  • 5A: Ron Averill (Lansing)

  • 4A: Tim Johnson & Michael Vander Linden (Burlington)

  • 4A: Jesse Meyers (Mulvane)

  • 3-2-1A: Thomas Lowe & Thain Brobst (Eureka)

KWCA Senior Wrestler of the Year

  • 6A: Bubba Wilson (Manhattan)

  • 5A: Wyatt Hendrickson (Newton)

  • 4A: Korbin Riedel (Tonganoxie)

  • 3-2-1A: Dayton Porsch (Hoxie)

  • Female: Mya Kretzer (McPherson)

KWCA Media of the Year

  • Jim Ramirez (KSOK Radio)
  • Chad Beeson (KSOK Radio)

  • Brian Thomas (Montgomery County Chronicle)

  • Joey Sprinkle (The Cowley Courier Traveler Newspaper)

  • Rick Peterson (Topeka Capital-Journal)

  • Robin Wunderlich (Eureka Herald)

KWCA Official of the Year

  • Kyle Roberts

KWCA Administrators of the Year

  • 6A: John Sedler (Gardner-Edgerton)
  • 5A: Rick Wheeler (Wichita Heights)
  • 4A: David Brown (Chanute)
  • 321A: Travis Githens (Chase Co.)

KWCA Contributors of the Year

  • Brenden Harshman (Chase Co)
  • Craig Amrein (Ellis)
  • Gene Harrison (Newton)

KWCA Team Support Personnel of the Year

  • Amy Shipman (Ark City)
  • Bruce Ball (Hoisington)
  • Mike Longhofer (Cotton O'Neil Orthopedics & Sports Medicine)
  • Damon Dennis (USD 416)

KWCA Middle School Coach of the Year

  • Tony Rich (Dodge City Middle School)

KWCA HOF Inductees

  • Jeff Giles (Minneapolis)
  • Jerry Fraser (Clay Center)
  • Jon Lippelmann (Scott City)

KWCA Senior Collegiate Wrestler of the Year

  • Preston Weigel (Oklahoma State)

  • Tyler Mies (Newman University)

KCA Coach of the Year

  • Rick Langerot (Mulvane)

NWCA Awards

  • Coach of the Year: Mike Garcia (Hutchinson)

  • Asst. Coach of the Year: Tim Johnson (Burlington)

Tag(s): NEWS